Two Chubby Vegans

Just another WordPress.com site

The trials of living without a tuna melt…


Before I barrel into what happened diet-wise today I should mention I have NOT canned the Japanese Knotweed yet. What was supposed to be a 5 minute trip to sign paperwork with our new landlord turned into a 3 hour conversation over tea followed by a frantic trip to our neighborhood teriyaki place for stir-fried tofu and veggie tempura. So one might say the “fat” ship sailed again today but really, by 8:30 we were ready to gnaw off our own arms from hunger. Even worse, *I* had a part of a cheese sandwich this afternoon. I had thought I would be able to continue having meat and dairy in the house for my catering, and as long as it’s frozen I am fine but let me defrost it, put it in the fridge or cook it and all my willpower heads to Ensenada for a beer and a vacation. So no knotweed, no willpower and the cat won’t speak to me. BUT we did run up the street to our local second-hand shop (we call it the room of requirement and if you get the reference you rock!) to look for a new living room reading chair, which we did not find but we did find 2 older but in very good shape electric space heaters for our son’s new basement room and our new bedroom, or maybe the office downstairs. AND, to make it even better it was 50% off day so we got both heaters and some extra canning jars for about $7.50. (Doing the Snoopy dance today.) I will try to can again tomorrow as the water bath canner is sitting on the stove as we speak giving me it’s most pathetic and neglected look.

Now, onward and forward… I have decided that I simply cannot BEAR another moment without tuna. Mind you, when I was eating tuna I wasn’t eating tuna that often but nonetheless, absence has made the tuna heart grow fonder apparently. So, after tasting an absolutely fantastic vegan tuna substitute at the Wayward Vegan Cafe in the University District (which is across and down the street from Pizza Pi, the site of my first OMG! vegan pizza epiphany) I decided that I had to come up with something. I would have asked the guys at the Wayward for a sort of hint on how they make it but they tend to communicate recipes in what I term an “economy of expression”… i.e. not even Julia Child could figure anything out from what they say. Not that Julia “oh she of the creamery butter” Child would WANT a vegan tuna recipe but you get my meaning. So, here it is, my first attempt at vegan tuna and according to the other vegans in the house it is pretty darn lip smackity.

 SpongeBob Fishpants’ Tuna-riffic Vegan Sandwich Spread

1 cup whole brazil nuts

2 (20 oz) cans garbanzo beans

1 tbsp Sweet pickle relish

1 1/2 tbsp brown mustard

2 tbsp nonfat tofu mayonaise

2 scallions, finely chopped

2 stalks celery, finely chopped

1. Soak brazil nuts in cool water overnight and then chop finely in a food processor. Don’t process until it’s nut butter though, you want texture in your “tuna”.

2. Rinse and drain garbanzo beans. Mash to desired consistency. Add brazil nuts, relish, mustard, mayo, scallions and celery to the beans and mix thoroughly. If mixture is too thick you can add more mayo or a bit of plant milk (I used plain rice milk).

3. Taste. Add salt and pepper as needed for personal taste or let each person season their own sandwich/wrap. Makes aprox. 8 generous servings (You could realistically cut these servings in half and conveniently cut the calories in half as well).

Tuna-tastic!

Nutrition Facts

Serving Size 1 serving (89.1 g)

Amount Per Serving

Calories 302

Calories from Fat 80

% Daily Value*

Total Fat 8.9g, 14%

Saturated Fat 0.4g, 2%

Cholesterol 0mg, 0%

Sodium 86mg, 4%

Total Carbohydrates 42.7g, 14%

Dietary Fiber 12.2g, 49%

Sugars 8.3g

Protein 14.5g

Vitamin A 2%  • Vitamin C 6%

Calcium 7%      • Iron 24%

* Based on a 2000 calorie diet

May 12, 2011 - Posted by | Canning, New recipes, Re-homed Goodies, Tuna

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

